1936 Air cleaner

Tom_S

I know there were different type air cleaners on the 1936 Buicks depending on engine size, heavy duty, etc.  But were there different ones for the 36-40 series motors.  The one on the left picture came off my 36-40 and used the bent radiator support rod for clearance.  The one on the right is lower and fatter and would not need the bent support rod for clearance.  It came off my recent 36-40 complete engine purchase.  Picture of it being unloaded. 

Thanks,

Tom

cleaner.jpg

engine unload.jpg

I have no personal experience with 1936 40 series cars so I can't tell you which one is correct and which one has been changed but the parts manual only appears to list one part number for a 1936 40 series Air Cleaner and Silencer. That part number is 1526941.

From a quick Google Images search, I would guess that the taller one is the correct one for your car.

Tom, from what I`ve learned is the one on the left is the "city" one, and there is what they called the "country" one(or heavy-duty)which is an oil-bath. My `36 40series has one like yours, which I think is original to the car, both my radiator support rods are straight. I do have the oil-bath type also, I bought it from a guy parting out a `36 40series. Someone had changed the carb(put a carter in place of the stromberg)and hammered a spot on the underside for clearance so it would fit on the carter. I noticed the throw-out bearing and hub lying there. Bearing is easy to find, the hub it goes on not easy to find. There is a return spring that connects to the throw-out and the front of the trans. Most people destroy this spring when removing the transmission. FYI when removing the trans, first remove the bell-housing louvered vent(has the dripper tube) reach in and disconnect the spring. Attached is picture of oil bath type.

DSCN5408.JPG