WW or BW tires on a 1947?

'72 LeSabre

I have a 1947 Roadmaster Sedanette.  It's time to buy a set of bias tires.  The 1947 sales brochure shows the car with wide whitewalls.  I'm assuming the car could have come with blackwalls.  Does anyone know for sure?

Thanks,

Ashby

I agree with Jack as an option.

In the book "70 Years or Buick" the '47 Roadmaster Sedanet  76-S is shown with whitewalls. 

Also states a cost of $2,131 and weighed 4,095 Pounds with 18,983 produced for domestic sales.

Cal.

Whitewalls - 

Yes, in my opinion:

The ROADMASTER, as a TOP-OF-THE-LINE Series Buick would very likely have been ordered, Floor-Planned, and delivered with several options, not the least of which were the white sidewall tires, in addition to a pushbutton radio, heater/defroster, day,night mirror, etc - at least in my opinion. I could understand the buyer of a 40 Series Special opting to save the cost of some of the options, especially if it were to be a dealer showroom price-leader, a traveling salesman's daily-driver, or a housewife's grocery-getter. 

• Like 1

I’m more or less with Marty on this one...optional yes, so ultimately you can decide and neither will be incorrect, but I’d expect the proportion of Roadmasters with whitewalls to be considerably higher than the proportion of Specials.

Of course, this is not an era of expertise for me.

• Like 1

I think all vehicles should have WSW if they were available for the car.......I just like WSW.

But.....while the catalogs might show the cars with WSW and also show them as being available,  coming out of the war years,  WSW were probably a luxury.  I suspect the tire companies were selling all the black walls they could make and at whatever price

they chose.   I guess my view of history would be Yes they were available, and I would certainly have ordered them......I suspect there was limited availabity of white side walls in 1947.