Need info on spare tire lock and keys

Barbara Page

I am not an automotive expert. I came across this lock and keys at an estate sale. One key is marked Curtis industries. My research says they changed their name in the ‘60s. A friend who knows cars says that he thinks It’s part of a Continental tire kit.  I can’t tell if there are missing parts on the inside.  Photos attached.  Any help is appreciated.    

4D94BA25-C0A3-461A-B26C-ACC0B067064A.jpeg

8A4CEA43-80A3-44DB-99CA-26520DAFBF49.jpeg

30C5EC5F-615F-429E-BF3D-5455532D3B85.jpeg

Yup, standard old spare tire lock designed to fit over the lug nut so the tire/wheel cannot be removed from the bracket.  It's an aftermarket accessory that was purchased at auto parts and hardware stores. 

Terry

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, Barbara Page said:

Any idea what it might be worth?   If that's a no-no on here, I apologize for asking.

I have seen them sell from $2.00 up to about $10.00. If someone is looking specifically for this type, it may bring a couple of dollars more. You might go to Ebay and look at "completed sales" and see what they may sell for.

Edited by keiser31 (see edit history)
  • Like 1

Youse guys are all wrong. 😁

Except John....

Real GM part that fits Corvair and Corvette.

You are missing the special bolt or nut to make this lock a tire. The bolt type was used on 61-64 Corvairs. The nut type was used on 1965 - 69 Corvairs. I do not know the Corvette years.

http://corvaircenter.com/phorum/read.php?1,813643

Of course, it could be an old part in the system that was reused for Corvair and Corvette production. Seen that before, like the Carter YH used on Turbo Corvairs. Last used by GM on Corvettes 8 years earlier.

Curtis was still in business in the early 1990s. I bought a lot of key blanks from them. Nuts bolts and auto parts also!

Edited by Frank DuVal (see edit history)
  • Like 1
  • Haha 1