Sign in to follow this  
BuicksBuicks

Gene Autry 1936 movie: masking identity of '36 Ford

Last night I was watching the 1936 Gene Autry movie, “The Old Corral”.  What I saw in the movie was very unusual, masking the appearance of a 1936 Ford. Three wide bands run from the grill backward;  but in a scene as the Ford drove away in the distance, the bands didn’t extend beyond the grill on the driver’s side. Not being a Ford expert, I also noticed the front parking lights on top of the fenders. This didn’t look right to me.

The only reason that I can figure out for the altering the car’s appearance was something in licensing and Ford perhaps didn't have a license with Republic Studios.  None of the other cars in the movie were Fords; they were earlier Packard and a Buick.

36 Ford 1.jpg

36 Ford 2.jpg

36 Ford 3.jpg

Those are pine trims which were an era accessory. They are ugly in my opinion but my Dad who grew up in the era with a 36 thought they were cool. The lights on the fenders are also not factory but a popular addition when they were used cars

• Like 1

Posted (edited)
29 minutes ago, tomcarnut said:

Those are pine trims which were an era accessory. They are ugly in my opinion but my Dad who grew up in the era with a 36 thought they were cool. The lights on the fenders are also not factory but a popular addition when they were used cars

They're not made of pine. I'm guessing that tomcarnut means that they were made by the Pines Company, more commonly know as manufactures of the "Pines Winter Front" which was an after market accessory device which controlled the heat of the engine coolant by blocking and/or diminishing the amount of fresh air passing through the radiator of a car. Here's a Google image of the winter front:

1936-OLDSMOBILE-PINES-WINTER-FRONT-FT-GRILL-RADIATOR-PANEL-36-OLDS-CHEVY-6-8-CYL

Here's a Google Image of the '36 Ford accessory grille and hood trim:

IMG_20170915_0002.jpg

Edited by Hudsy Wudsy (see edit history)