Sign in to follow this  
36threewindow

1936 Buick gauge cluster lighting

I have a 1936 Buick Special 3 window coupe and am converting over to 12 volt electrical system and all new wiring. All the lighting is working well so far except the gauge cluster. There are 3 new -12 volt bulbs in the cluster, one of which lights the high beam headlight red light . The other two bulbs illuminate the cluster from 2 quarter inch slots one on each side of cluster. All three bulbs light but are very dim, the back face is a cream color but solid with no light coming thru from behind just the dim light from the sides. You can make out the numbers on the speedo but can't see/read gauges or odometer.

Any thoughts appreciated

Thanks

Al T.

Check the ground connection to the cluster.

I have no experience in a 6 to 12 volt conversion, and would not recommend it, but since you seem to have already done that the only two ideas that I would have for why your gauge cluster bulbs are dim is a bad ground or the wrong bulbs. Perhaps you have 24 volt bulbs instead of 12 volt bulbs. They do make 24 volt bulbs in the same size as what I suspect you are using. I would think that a bad ground is a more likely problem. Assuming the 36 gauge cluster is similar to my 1937 and 1938 clusters, I would think that some corrosion could be causing your problem. It might be easier to simply run a separate ground wire from one of the screws on the back of the cluster to a known good ground somewhere else on the dash rail.

Posted (edited)

Maybe the light switch?

Is it one of those that dim the dash when you turn it?

Possibly not compatible with 12 volts.

Edited by JACK M (see edit history)
  • Like 1

If that buick has dimmable panel lights its possible the dimmer rheostat may be bad or has dirty contacts. It might be in the headlight switch or somewhere else. Check the contacts in the bulb sockets with a voltmeter for 12 volts. If you have less than that the lights will be dim.

• Like 1