Sign in to follow this  
Rawhide0

1918 Dodge Bros Military staff car

Hello everyone,

I need some help here,  I can't seems to find any info on world War one Military vehicles dodge made. I'm interested in purchasing one that the owner says is a military model because of the wheels it has (artillery disc wheels). Can anyone date what year the car is and if it may be Military made or not?  Thanks.

Jon

85bd8beefd9cc7ff9b8f390be7c0e972cf2f4c0f-1S_1280.jpg

One will need the frame number and engine numbers to begin with to establish what year  first.

artillery wheels are on plenty of cars that weren't destined for military - I don't think the cadillac's that were definitely used in world war 1 even had wheels like that

• Like 1

I'm no expert, but I thought that solid steel wheels like those shown in this photo were usually described as, "disk wheels," whereas "artillery wheels" referred to wheels with LOTS of very short and and very stout wooden spokes. Can someone enlighten me on this, please? 

• Like 1

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, lump said:

I'm no expert, but I thought that solid steel wheels like those shown in this photo were usually described as, "disk wheels," whereas "artillery wheels" referred to wheels with LOTS of very short and and very stout wooden spokes. Can someone enlighten me on this, please? 

You have it correct, but spoked artillery style wheels  were made in steel also. The car pictured has disc wheels.

Edited by JFranklin (see edit history)
  • Like 2

There were 3 kinds of wheels available back then. Wooden spoke artillery wheels, these were standard equipment on most cars. Wire wheels and steel disc wheels.

Wood spoke artillery wheels were the most popular and most practical wheel. They were tough and flexible, and would bounce back from knocks, rocks, potholes etc.