Sign in to follow this  
lincolnmatthews

V-12 REbuild $$$$$$$

Hello mentioned previously having sent my V12 down to Portland for a rebuild, just heard back today that its cracked (2 spots from the exhaust seats into the cylinder walls). They want to sleeve these 2 cyls at an added cost of $1000.00 ($500.00 ea cyl) does this sound reasonable?. I talked to Cast Iron Repair out of Arlington WA he said that yet it needs to be sleeved but also welded to prevent blowing out a head gasket in the future, I have to verify that the rebuilder was going to have it welded, if not then I have a problem.

I have a spare block & I'm going to check out for a crack on the seats, but will probably send it down to Portland to have it magnaflexed. It will probably be cracked too, I assume that most of these blocks are cracked. Maybe I'm wrong, I only know that its getting almost beyond what I want to spend on this project, considering I'm only beginning having to buy wiring from Rhode Island at $1500 ++ Thanks!

My block had 5 cracks
I bought a good used block 
I would not want my block welded
my opinion is get a good used block
my rebuild is going to be around 10k

Welding the block is not a good idea. It can lead to other cracks and is more expensive to have done right than stitching. Stitching involves drilling along the crack and filling the holes with threaded plugs.

To properly weld  a block, it should be heated in a oven, welded and then allowed to come to room temperature over a long period. Even then a weld may not hold due to contamination in the casting.

• Like 1