Electrical Ground Lost Between Lamp Socket and Housing

carbdoc

And now for the stupid question of the day:

Every year or so, I have to remove the front parking/turn signal lenses from my 1970 Chrysler 300 and use a center punch to stake around each bulb socket flange where it was peined over the lamp housing.  This is because it loses all ground between said steel socket and pot-metal housing.  I know that there must be a simple way to repair this problem permanently but, even though I'm a pretty resourceful guy, the solution has evaded me.  Any suggestions . . ?

While I am not an expert on the details of your Chrysler, my 62 Olds has a similar problem.  In my case, the parking light reflectors are aluminum, and the socket is steel.  Galvanic corrosion between the two occurs due to dampness, causing this same recurring problem.  I finally had to solder a wire to the base of the 1157 bulb and ran it to a separate ground.  Since the socket is swaged in the aluminum reflector, it is nearly impossible to remove the socket without damaging the soft reflector, so I gave up and ran the wire instead.

• Like 1

Much appreciated, Matthew and Joe!  A local friend suggested this same fix to me after I posted this . . . strange how we can often be oblivious to the obvious.  

And by the way, Joe:  my first car was a '62 Olds 98, black and silver with silver interior, that I bought from a neighbor for $100 --- the proverbial "$100 Car"!  Great memories . . . 

Jeff

Same with early model and FC Corvairs, steel lamp socket crimped into an aluminum reflector. Easiest permanent cure is soldering wire to steel socket and attaching other end to chassis for a good ground. Of course, not stock if a judge notices!😁