Best products for white walls?

Kevin M

I just got new tires on my 98 lesabre on Saturday. I want to keep them as nice as possible for as long as I can. I’ve used mothers white wall spray in the past. But that’s good for cleaning. Is there any product that is a protectant for white walls out there, I can’t seem to find any. I figured y’all would know. Thanks in advance. 

A36BD4FA-A9D9-46DA-AB80-09B3158F09AF.jpeg

Try to limit their exposure to sunlight. With limited exposure to UV damage, your WW's will look good long after your tires should have been retired from touring. Limiting UV damage will also immeasurably increase your tire life. You might hear negative comments regarding Westley's Bleach-white, but I've been using it for over forty years with only good results. Clean them once a year, and try to keep them out of the sun, and they should look good for the life of the tire.

• Like 1

I used Westley's, too, for 30+ years. I keep a folded piece of 800 or 100 grit wet or dry sandpaper in the water bucket to dress up the edges and any scuffs. I wet sand the whitewalls.

My tires last about 10 years so I am not too worries about sanding through the sidewalls.

Bernie

Westley's does a great job of removing pin striping on wheels--unintentionally.  I used to use Simple Green Automotive (full strength) plus a scrub brush, but have found a proprietary elixir from an individual in the Mother Lode country which cleans the blackwalls as well as the whitewalls.