Help with my 51 Chevy Wagon

EOB

Hi. I got a 51 chevy wagon this summer and have been taking it apart. I'm looking for a few parts, as well as help with questions that have been popping up as I restore it. I am new at this and am not a mechanic type. I'm trying to learn as much as I can with an old car that I've been wanting for a long time. I wanted to see if there are any tin woody enthusiasts out there before I toss out my questions and parts needs. Thanks!

• Like 1

Welcome to the forums.  You should scroll down past technical, Buick, CCCA, Ford and Chrysler.  Then comes GM products and there is a section for Chevrolet.  Every one here would love to see pictures.

9 hours ago, EOB said:

... I am new at this and am not a mechanic type. I'm trying to learn as much as I can...

Welcome to the forum, EOB!  You'll find many

knowledgeable people here from all sorts of backgrounds.

I'm sure people can help with your '51 Chevy questions.

One thing I've heard people advise, is that it might not

be a good idea for a newcomer to take his car all apart

at once.  Restoration takes a long time, even thousands

of hours for an experienced restorer;  so to have your car

all in pieces can end up being overwhelming.  Many cars,

once taken apart, never get put back together!

Is your car in decent enough condition that you can

simply make it driveable?  Then you'll have something you

can enjoy.  Then, perhaps, repair or upgrade one part at a

time--giving priority to certain areas as needed--so you'll

almost always have a running, driveable car.

The good news is also that you don't have to be a mechanic

to enjoy old cars.  You may rely on others' skills, but you

can still have fun.  All the best to you!

• Like 7