1949 Buick Road Master model 70 starter issue?

Brooklyn Beer

I have a 1949 Buick Road Master that seems to have what sounds like the starter hanging up after I changed the ballast resistor. The motor is only of 3000 miles with a rebuild and the Dynaflow about 100. The car has been converted to 12 volt with alternator as I had AC installed. Only had car for 3 weeks. Cap, rotor, coil, plugs, wires, points, condenser are new.  I did not do any of the work on car but someone with a reputable rep did it.  Took delivery of the car and it started and ran fine, if a little rich.OK, that was going to be a carb adjustment when tune manual got here. (waiting still) Drove it 60 plus miles without a problem over the next week. Car started very well even on a cold day.  Choke, etc seemed to work fine if idle was a little high. Once or twice over 40 starts the starter (still activated from gas pedal) would hang up and would not shut off with key. Had to pop hood and panic disconnect the battery or it would continue to turn even with key off. Problems started coming back from a drive when out of the blue it began to stumble, miss, and loose power. Would not take any pedal at all but was 1/2 mile from house and limped home into garage. Gas in tank is one day old and from same pump I fill my every day cars. Fuel filter is new, carb bowl full and filled with fresh gas.  No problems there. Next day when I started it idled horrible. Surged, stumbled, stalled. Then would not start. No fire, no spark. Tested with a spritz of starter fluid.  Had a like issue with a 40 ford at one time so changed out ballast resistor and it fired up BUT it acts as if starter is hung up and dragging on the fly wheel.  Sounds like it it is stuck on the flywheel BUT not cranking.  Rich as well. Prior to restarting after resistor change  I screwed in both idle mixture screws all the way then backed out 3 complete turns which I am sure was a mistake now. Trying to find a base to work off as one was 4 turns out