Water pump packing

Matt Harwood

I have a water pump that's very leaky. I think this image asks the question better than words can:

WaterPump1.thumb.jpg.13edde774b31bf28ba00bbd62c9f82c8.jpg

I've never done packing on a water pump before, but I ordered some 1/8" graphite packing material from Restoration Supply. Right now, the pump is leaking significantly enough that I expect the cooling system to be empty by morning. Thoughts?

Thanks!

You are correct about adding packing material.  Using calipers, measure diameter.  Multiple by 3.14.  You will need to back the nut out.

Cut the length at a 45 degree angle and install by lapping the cut to assure full thickness packing. 

It's not hard to do but can be tricky if you have never done it before simply because it's tight.  Not trying to give an idiot lesson.

I personally prefer Teflon packing.

• Like 1

If the shaft has irregularities in it from the packings over the years you can pack it every day and it won't help.

Over the years we overhauled many irrigation pumps.

Plain old gray, graphited, braided packing has been the gold standard for packings for a very long time.

• Like 2

If what's left seems soft(ish) it's probably OK to leave it.

On the other hand some water pumps use a lantern ring between two stacks of packings for lubrication in which case it would be best to start over.

By removing the existing packings you'll get an idea of the condition of the shaft.

lantern ring.jpg

• Like 1

34 minutes ago, Matt Harwood said:

Should I remove any leftover packing that's in there?

Yes. And it is normal to put in three pieces, each equal to one circumference. That makes it hard to get the nut on. It can be easier to put one in, compress it with the nut, then the second, compress it with the nut, then the third and do up the nut just enough to stop the drip. As above, the shaft must be smooth.