1940 Running Boards

Hope I'm in the right spot for this ... I'm new here folks just found this site yesterday ... I'm also new to owning a pre-war car

I recently purchased a 1940 Buick Special .. lots of learning going on now ... The pictures below are of my car ... I bought this car 3 months ago just as you see it but as you can also see there are no running boards and the car just doesn't look complete to me without them ...... I have looked online ... I have looked in a book that I have called *Interchangeable Parts for Buick ... Olds ... Pontiac ... 1929 - 1952* ...... I have contacted running board builders but my searches have been unfruitful to find any running boards for this particular year of vehicle

I am hoping that there might be someone who can offer some assistance or maybe direction in finding a decent set of running boards ... my last option will be to make a pattern and to find a tin bender here in Las Vegas if that is the route I have to go ...... Any assistance would be greatly appreciated

I forgot ... Does anyone know of a site that can give me info on this car through the VIn number?

Thanks again

David

40 Buick Driver Side.jpeg

40 Buick Passenger Side.jpeg

Edited by hizson
misspelling (see edit history)

1939 & 1940 Buick body shell are basically the same, but wheel base is different

You will need the brackets that hold the running boards

The rubber on any used running board will be in poor condition.  New original pattern rubber may be available, but at a $$$$ price.  Otherwise ribbed generic rubber .

The best source of pre war Buick parts is Dave Tacheny in Champlin, MN 55316. He specializes in 1936-1941 Buick parts.

He is old school:- no email. The best way to contact him is to call him between 4 and 7 pm Central at 763-427 3460.

http://forums.aaca.org/topic/206688-dave-tachney/

Edited by 1939_Buick (see edit history)