Understanding the combination Starter Generator

ROD W

I know a number of people with pre 1925 Buicks,  on this Forum  have done a lot of work on their starter/ generators  and have a good knowledge of there workings,  But I would like to give a step by step explanation of the S/G for those who find them a bit of a mystery.  I am not an auto electrician,   but have been lucky enough to be able to play around with these S/G for close on fifty years.  My experience has been on the S/G from the late teens and early 20,s,  so the earlier one,s starting in 1913/14, will look slightly different  but function in the same way.  I will include a bit of physics to help understand the workings of a DC Motor.

All this information is available in the Buick Reference Books and Workshop Manuals for each year,  but can be fairly difficult to follow.

As stated it is a combination  Starter motor and Generator  and has three functions.

1-  Starter Motor to crank the engine.  

2- Generator to recharge the battery and provide for the lights

3-  The Generator also acts as a motor to align the gears that connect to the flywheel for the starting operation.

The s/g has two basic components   1.  The iron frame which provides the magnetic field and  2. The Armature that rotates in the magnetic field.

SCAN0037.jpg.fe0e537258f104ad295fd74b023350d6.jpg

DC  MOTORS

When a current is passed through a conductor in a magnetic field,  it experiences a turning forcep30_m4_108_l.jpg.ce33d1a00ec6673cd9492b8719c16341.jpg

In the Delco  s/g  there are two field coils.   One for the generator motor ( this is a shunt motor,  meaning the field windings are in parallel to the armature ) and another for the starter motor.( whose field windings are in series with the armature )   The armature also has two sets of windings ,  one for the starter motor  and one for the generator,    with their respective commutators.

The two motors operate very differently due to the positioning of their field coils.