Hup 20 engine details

1937hd45

If you were looking at a Hupmobile 20 in the showroom in 1911, how would the engine look? Was it painted after the flywheel and oiler were installed, what color was it painted, were all the brass bits polished or as cast? A few photos of proper restored engine compartments would be nice to see. Bob 

Here's my take on the Hupp 20 engine and colors, I welcome concrete proof that what I state isn't true, but I've been fooling with Model 20's for over 40 years.  There are always exceptions to the rules, but remember too that a car restored in 1950, and done incorrectly, can now look like what we have in our mind's eye as an "original" car and skew beliefs about what's correct.

Engine, flywheel, oiler canister, transmission, all painted black.  Remember that this was a time when such paint would have been brushed on, or daubed on with a rag, so it wasn't a shiny finish.

Magneto would be painted black and have polished brass, it was supplied by Bosch and nicely finished.  Same true of the Breeze carb, would be nice looking.

Exhaust manifold probably bare metal, intake manifold painted black.

Other brass pieces, probably just as they came out of the box, not polished but remember they were brand new (oil tube cover, lock nuts on oiler, etc.) so they'd still be shiny.

From illustrations I've seen, all running gear painted black, fenders black, frame and body and gas tank a poppy red almost orange (I have a sample that was from an original car, it's not fire engine red, it does have orange in it).

Seats plain black leather, with each seat have a seam on each side as it curves.

Late 1910 the dark blue body color was introduced.

• 5 months later...

Very interesting info.

what do you believe the wheel colour would be? I see a couple with cream wheels.

i am looking at one to purchase myself and this info helps greatly.

is there a list of engine and chassis numbers to coraspond to a year?