57 T-Bird Purchase

Guest jerseyjoe

Guest jerseyjoe

I have an opportunity to buy my dream car, a 57 T-BIRD at a good price($25k). The body is in great shape, the undercarriage looks ok. The seats had a couple of small tears on one side but no big deal. It has 2 tops and the orig steering wheel and a 2nd smaller steering wheel. The seat does not go back far enough so I'd need to get the tracks moved back just a few inches. Otherwise it looks jreally good. The engine looks like the original and could uses a little cleaning up but no rust.

The problem is, I am not a good mechanic. When I went to see it it was already running but sounded good (the blub-blub of the engine sounded right). It was a cold day and when the owner took me for a ride it ran rough and had a little problem getting out of gear for a short while. Eventually, after about a mile or so, it began to run more smoothly and shifted ok the rest of the way. We hit 60-65 mph and , although it was a lot noisier (windy) than my Audi I figured it was because we had the soft top on and it we were going a a good clip. The owner seemed to feel that it usually takes a while to warm up becasue it sat unused for a long time. The odometer reads 64k miles which I assume is probably 164k. The car started right up several times after I got there and tried it but I am worried about it running rough in the beginning since I'm not a good mechanic and can't easilyy fix any major problem. What does anyone think?  Am I asking for trouble or does it sound normal for a 57?

Edited by jerseyjoe (see edit history)