1920 Cadillac starter/generator bakelite coupling

Matthew Hinson

Hi All,

I need to replace this bakelite piece that is attached to the shaft in front of the starter/generator. I've got it J.B.Welded and on the shelf until next weekend, but I'd rather have an intact one. I checked my parts bin and no luck.

The car is a 1920 model 59 touring 7 pass.

Thank you,

Matthew

IMG_2837[1].JPG

IMG_2836[1].JPG

I'm no expert on Cads of this vintage, but if fiber "rag" joints will work, John Cislak in MA at 413-five-forr-tree-9017 sells them very reasonably in at least two sizes for Pierce-Arrows.  He'll need OD, center hole diameter, bolt on-center measurement, bolt diameter.  He says he only checks email once a month, so I'm not listing that.

It's probably made of canvas or linen phenolic - sheets of cotton fabric impregnated with phenolic resin and cured.  I'm not sure why they would have used a rigid plastic-like material instead of a flexible rubber/fiber sheet or belt.  If you want a new one like the old one, get some grade L or LE phenolic from McMaster-Carr or MSC.   The L/LE grade is just a little more expensive than the C/CE grade but LE can be machined to close tolerances with a smoother finish.  A 12"x12"x1/4" sheet is about $25, available in multiples of 1/16" thickness.  It machines easily but is stinky.  Take your old part and the new phenolic sheet to any machine shop and they can make a new one for you.  It would help to bring the mating metal coupling so they can get the hole spacing exactly right.  If you're handy with a jigsaw and drill, you can make it yourself.

See https://www.mscdirect.com/industrialtools/phenolic-laminate-sheet.html

Matt,

I think Mark Shaw had found a source for this part (at least for the Delco Starter/Generator on Buicks) - maybe it was available on ebay?

Check with him?

• Like 1