1943-54 Chrysler Windsor 6

alsfarms

I have limited experience, however the 265 is a 25" engine. I do own a 1953 Windsor 6, 265. 

I also know of a 25" 218 engine that were in smaller Mopar cars. Like found in a Dodge 6, or Special Deluxe. These engines may have been made in Canada only. Shorter stroke I believe.

I was informed that a Windsor with a smaller displacement engine in it, will be pretty slow. The Windsor is big, and heavy, the 265 is a good fit.

• Like 1

Short answer: It will interchange with earlier DeSoto/Chrysler sixes back to 1937 or 38  and can be used in Plymouth/Dodge cars and light trucks with a few modifications .

Chrysler corp made 2 different flathead sixes for cars and light trucks, 1938 - 59 (and up to 1972 in some truck and industrial apps).

There was one block, that measured 23 1/2" at the head, it was used in Plymouth, Dodge, and Dodge trucks. Then they made a larger engine for DeSoto, Chrysler and some large Dodge trucks and military Power Wagons  that measured 25" at the head.

The smaller block was commonly found in displacements of 201, 217, and 230 cubic inch. The bigger block was usually seen in 237, 251 and 265 sizes although they also made a 228 and 241 prewar. The 265 is the largest displacement version and is rather rare as it was only used for 3 years in Chrysler Windsors and in a few industrial and marine applications. The 4 3/4" stroke crankshaft required special bolts for clearance and is the biggest crankshaft that will fit. But it will fit in any of the larger blocks if you use the accompanying connecting rods.

The bigger block engine will fit in Plymouth and Dodge cars, in fact some have the frame drilled for the motor mount bolts. In addition to different motor mounts the radiator must be moved forward.