Preparing Cylinder head for Gasket

GrahamPaige29

Hi guys.  Sorry I ask so many "dumb" questions but I'm a beginner.  I am almost ready to install the news gasket and head on my '29 Graham Paige.  The block and head are nice and straight.  I'm wondering if you guys "dress" the head and block surfaces in some way before putting the gasket on.  I've seen guys run a very flat sharpening stone over the surfaces to clean them up a bit.  I did go over them with a razor blade to clean off some gunk.  Do you believe in that sticky gasket spray or is it just a messy waste to time?  Thanks.

IMG_0020.JPG

Stone it and you'll have grit where you don't want it when your trying to get it clean to assemble.

Just wipe down the mating surfaces with solvent to get rid of any traces of oil and dirt. Then spray the gasket with this Permatex Copper Spray-A-Gasket.  https://www.permatex.com/products/gasketing/gasket-sealants/permatex-copper-spray-a-gasket-hi-temp-sealant/ 

Paul

Edited by PFitz (see edit history)

Yes. Use a thin bladed putty knife to work in under the gasket to loosen it.  Works faster if you can warm it up.  Then just use solvent to clean off the Copper Spray-A-Gasket on both the engine and the gasket.  

If you can get spare gaskets, I'd recommend that you do so.  If your car is going to be a driver, it's good to have spares on hand whenever possible. Parts of that era are becoming tougher, and tougher to find as stocks dry up and as there are fewer and few cars that vintage being restored, parts manufactures are moving on to making parts for later makes of cars. So, who knows what parts for your car will be available in future.   

Paul

BTW.  The silver you sometimes find on old copper gaskets ,.... that's most likely because many old mechanics used rattle-can silver engine enamel spray paint before the spray gasket sealers became popular. Works well if the head and block are within spec for being straight.

Paul

3 hours ago, GrahamPaige29 said: