1954 Pontiac Starchief Streight Eight holds back

Smokeywolf

I'm new to the world of flat heads as I have just purchased a 54 Starchief with L8 engine.

My problem is this.

The Engine holds back and does not freely rev.

Getting to 45 mph is slow but reasonable but will not accelerate much more than that.

So what could it be?

First thing I noticed was the exhuast had a small blow. Causing the air fuel mixture to be incorrect.

New gasket fitted.= No improvement in performance.

Next was  possibly weakened spark at higher RPM .

Petronoix igniter and coil fitted = very small improvement.

Ignition timing checked, looked miles out so readjusted the timing to between 3 and 5 deg before TDC.taken from the Harmonic blancer. 

A road test found this made things wrose.

I'm now  running 19 deg BTC and can get 50 at a push.

Still not working correctly.

Other Observations : While running the engine I noticed the throttle connecting rods becoming very hot to the touch!!

Spark plugs all have a small spark but all working 

Advance and retard appears to all so be working.

Any ideas will be greatly received. 

Edited by Smokeywolf (see edit history)

Checked compressions today on average came out at 70psi

This can't be correct as you need 90 psi to compress the fuel enough to push the piston down then the spark ignites 

Oil pressure is 40 psi so piston rings and big ends must be ok 

Exhaust is breathing ok

Heat raiser is working moving freely and held open  when engine was reved up.

expansion spring is not moving

Sticking values possible but on all is questionable.

Cam Timing not sure any ideas?

Edited by Smokeywolf (see edit history)

You stated that you had just purchased the car,  did the previous owner have problems with it?  Had the engine been apart? If not the cam timing is probably correct.  Had the car sit for awhile? Old gas, dried up and  gummed up passages in the carbureator, a stuck power valve could starve the engine at higher rpm yet idle OK.