Newbie Starting my 1st project 51 Buick Special

Guest buick51special

Guest buick51special

Well I must say this is my first ever car project and not sure exactly where to begin. This car runs well, and gas tank has been cleaned and it has a new gas pump. Other that that it needs interior and exterior work. All pans, trunk, seems to be without rust. just some surface rust and one small spot that will be need of some welding. I did drive it some so I know it runs clean. Not sure where to start, guess I should start with the surface rust areas. The interior will be redone not sure yet what to do with the floor, just rubber or carpet. Then painting it medium Blue with Black below side chrome and top. Not sure yet what to do with the chrome. Most is in good shape, some of the ornamental items are pitting. Throwing in some pictures and Ideas always welcome. I am not a car mechanic but I am a mechanical person.

08.jpg

07.jpg

eng.jpg

04.jpg

02.jpg

03.jpg

If you are not going for a full restoration........do the safety and normal maintenance items first.

* Check the wiring and operation of the lights.

* Brakes.....flush the lines, check the shoes, look for leaking cylinders, .....you might want to automatically upgrade with new shoes, the old ones are probably filled with asbestos, might be soaked with brake fluid etc.

* change the fuel filter.

* service the transmission, new filter and fluid

* check the cooling system, you might want to drain and start with fresh distilled water and antifreeze, check the hoses, including the heater hose

* check the steering for slop, adjust steering box as needed, top up the fluid.

* I think you car still has the lever shocks, check fluid level in them

* Looks like it has decent tires...if you did not install, check the date codes and drive accordingly.

As you do all the above, you will see other thing that you want to fix or upgrade, make a list as you find those things and work the list.