Getting more caster by adjusting the upper control arm

KongaMan

The front end on the 64 is going back together, and -- like many -- I intend to change the alignment specs to get more positive caster with radials.  My understanding is that the stock setup might only get one a couple of degrees before you run out of adjustment room. Stock spec is to center the upper shaft in the control arm and fine tune it with shims.  So, I'm thinking that If the shaft isn't quite centered, it will change the initial caster.  Which means that a couple of extra spins of the shaft might move the arm back enough to get more positive caster.

Any reason this won't work?

I'm new to buick, so I'm not positive. But the top shafts look much like the mustang design, and that being the case, they won't be adjustable. The nuts at the ends only provide tension on the bushings, and don't really allow for much adjustment. I imagine you can adjust the shim stacks front to back to get more caster.

Maybe you could have some new upper shafts made that pull in and lower the arms. You could get pretty crazy with roll camber too. I've often wondered if Chevelle parts would fit. If so, that opens up a lot of options.

I have radial tires on my 65 with the stock specs on the front end alignment, and it is the nicest driving car

I own at highway speeds out of 8 cars in the stable, including a 2013 Mustang and 2010 Camaro. I don't know why you would need to

mess with the caster  on the car. Just putting radials on it makes it drive like a dream.

2 hours ago, jsgun said:

I'm new to buick, so I'm not positive. But the top shafts look much like the mustang design, and that being the case, they won't be adjustable. The nuts at the ends only provide tension on the bushings, and don't really allow for much adjustment. I imagine you can adjust the shim stacks front to back to get more caster.