Outside Car Cover

DNC

I have a friend who needs a car cover for a car that will be sitting outside.  I have no experience with outside car covers.  Can anyone suggest a quality car cover made for this purpose?  Also it is for a 76 Cadillac Limousine (factory built).  I am guessing there are companies who make them to fit.  Thank you.

It must not be plastic so the humidity changes can escape. Otherwise the car will be wet after a few days and remain so; corrosion will follow. If the cover is on long enough the inside will go mouldy too. i.e. it must breath.

If it is on the paint or any chromed item, expect the paint or chrome to be damaged. The cover will move with thermal changes, wind, possibly on wetting and drying, removal and installation. If there is any dust between the cover and car, the dust will scratch away at the car with these movements. The fabric itself will abraid the car eventually too if it is not something like optical quality non-scratching fabric.

Bottom line, best get it inside! Next best is a moveable garage = pipe frame with tent covering, anchored against wind and strong enough for environmental (e.g. snow) loads in your area.

• Like 1

Spinneyhill:  All my cars are kept indoors, but I remember hearing stories of what you describe; such things as paint blistering.  This guy rents his home.  Getting the car inside is not going to happen.  Are there no covers designed for such a need or would he be better off just to leave the car exposed?  Thank you.

37 minutes ago, DNC said:

Spinneyhill:  All my cars are kept indoors, but I remember hearing stories of what you describe; such things as paint blistering.  This guy rents his home.  Getting the car inside is not going to happen.  Are there no covers designed for such a need or would he be better off just to leave the car exposed?  Thank you.

Yes, companies do make car covers for all sorts of indoor and outdoor needs.