Markup In The Automobile Business

TedH

Hello from America's Dairyland.  I'm exploring writing a story about how the automobile business operates.  No, I don't believe dealers pay anything near what is listed on the "dealer invoice"; second, I've never seen a convincing story with information from insiders on how the business truly works; third, I'm not looking to make things harder for anyone.  Goal is truth.  I've had some experience in retail, and the typical markup is 100%—buy for $10, sell for $20.  Sometimes, rather confusingly, this is referred to as a 50% markup, meaning 50% of the selling price is markup.  My goal is to find individuals with long, industry experience, interview them, and write a report.   Please send an e-mail to deneb77@icloud.com if you're interested in helping and wish to remain anonymous or have opinions or ideas and wish to remain anonymous.  

Ted, I was a dealer for over 30 years and worked for GM as well. If you do not believe a dealer invoice then I do not know what to say to you as you are wrong as can be.  There is only one true factory invoice. It has a net cost to the dealer and usually includes a hold back of a very low percentage that the dealer gets back later. It also may include marketing fees as well which the dealer does not get. Also shipping is usually listed separate.  I can't speak for all manufacturers but I had a domestic and a foreign franchise.  At times, there are incentives that come back to the dealer in the form of "bogeys" that they have to hit, contests or consumer incentives.  There is a ton of data and books already on this subject.   

• Like 2