Maxwell info needed

Joe in Canada

Can anyone give me any info on a 1913 Maxwell Model 35-4 parts availability. I am looking at a project but with the parts that appear to be missing like the transaxle shifter or front motor cover it  seems to be a major undertaking finding some of these parts. Also what brand would the lights be for Maxwell that year be? I do like Maxwell cars ever since watching Jack Benny and Rochester.     Thanks for any help in advance.

Edited by Joe in Canada (see edit history)
  • Like 1

Joe,

I have limited experience with my 1914 Maxwell, but Based upon my experience to date, I would say that it is likely that any part you need, you will have to either make, or adapt from a Model T part. 

You may occasionally get lucky on eBay, or at Hershey or Chickasha, but there just doesn't seem to be a lot of Maxwell stuff out there.  Lights are probably one exception; there seem to be a lot of lights

out there from which to choose (although expensive).  Perhaps because people saved the lights when these cars were scrapped.  The lights on mine are painted, but I will have a look to see if I can identify a brand.

Andrew

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...

Andrew thanks for the input on the Maxwell. I was seriously considering on buying this project until I noticed more critical pieces missing. Such as the molding over the cowl below the windshield. The front engine and side cover I was going to make if I could not find one but it is just adding up over my head. I googled the fellows name and car so I was finding adds he has had out for a few years and he has never found so things did not look good. Still looking for a project but friends are trying to talk me into a drivable project that will be done before my grandkids too old to drive.

Thanks Joe

Edited by Joe in Canada (see edit history)