Options for a 1934 Buick?

V.Milke

Hi:

I am not new to the forum nor to Buicks, as I have a 1947 Roadmaster Sedanette and a 1964 Riviera... but I am new to prewar Buicks!

I just commited to purchase a 1934 coupe, series 50, which has an older and not very correct restoration. The car is mostly complete except for the sidemount side covers (it does have the tread cover parts), carburator, air cleaner, interior door handles, and surely a few bits more. I intend to restore the car properly... but for now I am trying to get the missing parts and to start learning about the cars, so I am interested to find out about the correct GM optional items for them.

My car does have the sidemounts, a rear trunk rack with trunk (not sure this last one is correct) and a radio. What other options were offered from the factory for these cars? 

Thanks!

Victor

16.06, 1934 Buick series 50 coupe, Don Juanito Martin +(2).JPG

16.09, 1934 Buick series 50 coupe, Don Juanito Martin + (1).JPG

16.06, 1934 Buick series 50 coupe, Don Juanito Martin +(57).JPG

Thank you Pete. I have wanted a 3 window coupe for over 30 years, and this is the first one I have been able to get. 

Would you know if the radio's antenna was an external one or if it went under the car?

I would love to see a pic of an original heater. A friend of mine once had a 1934 Cadillac and he gave me the heater... if I get real lucky, it might be the same... though honestly the one I got looks a bit simple for a Cadillac... maybe it is an aftermarket unit.

The radio antenna was chicken wire inside the fabric roof with a cable extending down through the left side A-pillar.

There was a choice of wheels on 50/60/90 series--artillery (as shown) or wire. Single spare (standard) or sidemounts (optional).

I learned how to drive on a 1934 56S (w/rumble seat) and had it until 2007; the model 56 has a trunk compartment instead; the 56C was a convertible coupe.

Thank you, Grimy!