New to List

Hello to the List:<P>Please allow me to introduce myself.<P>My name is Paul Edwards, residing in New Jersey, USA. By happy chance, I stumbled across a well running, original & unrestored 1939 Packard Super Eight Touring Sedan which I purchased in May, 2001. (81K miles) Little did I realize how fine a car this was when I bought it. <P>It, however, has been a learning experience, as I bought the car because I liked its looks.<P>It is a real pleasure to drive, and people are truly amazed when I tell them it is unrestored.<P>The only work I have had done is brake reline, new shifter forks, tune up, electric fuel pump and drive line oil seals.<P>The car needs a wiring harness, which I am deferring until winter.<P>I would welcome any advice, suggestions, comments etc., as I am a novice when it comes to the care and feeding of a classic car. I would like to keep as close to original and unrestored as possible.<P>I am truly lucky to have this beautiful automobile.<P>Rgds, <P>Paul Edwards<BR>Belvidere, NJ

Welcome to the chat room, and congradulations on your ownership of one of the best classic cars ever. You probably have changed transmission fluid if you have changed the forks, and I would recomend a fluid change for the rear end and pack the wheel bearings. Always remember that these cars do not stop as fast as modern cars.

Guest Randy Berger