GM LS7 engine with 3x4-barrel carbs?

Matt Harwood

I'm sure you guys have all experienced this--I call him "the Topper." No matter what story you're telling, something even more remarkable/scary/injurious happened to him. So a guy at my local auto parts store found out what I do for a living and started telling me about this amazing cache of one-off GM secret prototype cars sitting in some old guy's barn near him. He says there are 1000 cars stashed there, all ultra-rare GM cars that were never released to the public (never mind the sheer square footage required to store 1000 cars). He's going down this list of truly impossible things, starting with a 2016 Corvette which, for some reason, he claims was built without any roof of any kind and is some kind of special prototype for racing. Then he goes on to say there's a 1970 Chevelle there with a factory LS7 engine that's got an aluminum block and heads and THREE 4-barrel carburetors on top. I told him surely it was three deuces and he was mistaken, but he doubled-down and yes, 12 barrels somehow shoehorned on top of a V8.

I stopped him right there because I was starting to drown in bullshiat.

I told him there was no possible way GM was trying to cram three 4-barrel carburetors onto a 454--there's no need for that much carburetor on anything short of 900 cubic inches running at 8000 RPM. Ignoring the fact that the LS7 was a 425 horsepower iron block that never went into production because of the fuel crisis, I can't imagine GM would build such a thing, prototype or not, and if so, there's just no way this old farmer in Ohio ended up with it just sitting there rotting in his barn.