conversion kits for 41 buick limited 90 limousine

Guest 41limo

Guest 41limo

I just purchased a 1941 Buick Limited 90 Limousine and need to buy some kits to have my mechanic convert the steering and brakes to Power systems and change the 6 volt system to 12 volt.  I am a total beginner at this and wonder if you all have any suggestions about where to order the parts and what kind is good for this car?  I have a long way to go.... This is a before picture. will post the after photo later...Thanks!!      Excited~41limo

my buick 3.jpg

my buick 2.jpg

my buick.jpg

Welcome to the AACA Discussion Forum. I have moved your post from the Forum Software Questions forum to the Pre-War Buick Forum. I am sure you can find some good information here. The first thing that I would ask you is why do you feel the need to make some of your proposed changes? My 1937 Buick is a good example of an original car that is perfectly fine to drive with the original steering and brakes as well as the original 6 volt system. It is much easier (and better in my opinion) to fix what is wrong with a car than to try to modernize or modify it. When these cars were new they were perfectly safe and reliable. Fixing what is wrong with it can make it so again. Many attempts to modify cars result in unintended problems.

The most common parts suppliers that I am aware of for many prewar Buick parts is Bobs and CARS:

http://bobsautomobilia.com/shop/

http://www.oldbuickparts.com/cart/index.php

• Like 1

First, Why do you want to change from 6volt to 12 volt?  The cars ran well then and will now if the pieces are in good shape.  If you try to change over the system you will have a lot of work and gremlins that can come out of the wiring.  It is more than putting a 12 volt battery in the car and changing the light bulbs with a new generator.  Look at the gauges, radio, starter, etc....