8-98 Lycoming Operating Temp

I am new to this non-pressurized radiator stuff so here are my questions?

- What should the typical operating temp be (like 90 to 95 degree day)

- Should the car be able to idle at a stand still for extended periods without exceeding 212?

- Has anyone messed with changing the fan out for one that pulls more air?

We have not driving the car yet, I have just been testing it at a stand still idle. My first attempt is it ran for about 15 to 20 mins at about 80 degrees then finally crept up to 210 and I turned it off. I figured out I have the temp sensitive front grill but the mechanism was not hooked up and the salts were about half closed. 

I managed to figure out how to keep them fully opened and I tried again today and it was about 75 out and we ran it for about 20 mins at idle and it hit about 200 then we decided to quite and take it for a drive later today. to see if moving pushing air works better.

I am just trying to figure out what is normalish.

In hot weather, mine generally runs190 or so at a steady 55, spiking to 200 sometimes a tad more at stops.  I am not running a thermostat, which while not generally thought  wise, works.   I had owned the car for about 5 years before I discovered this fact, and with a friend with similar car that seems to run overly hot regardless of what he tries, I decided to leave well enough alone.  I am of the mind that modern fuels are at least partially responsible for the fact that many old cars seem to run hotter than they used to.

Edited by Mike Dube (see edit history)