Restoring cars for a living

Guest Rocky 72

Guest Rocky 72

Hey guys ,

Wanted to know if any of you buy and restore cars for yourself and then sell as a business ?  I really don't want to deal with the customers and around here I doubt you would find many because the economy is so bad

The reason I'm asking is I'm a trim carpenter here in Pa. and the last couple of years work has gone from bad to worse , now the company I sub off of wants me to do concrete all the time and I said no , I'll be 54 in just a few weeks .  Most construction companies around here want you to supply your truck , tools , fuel for a whole $12 an hour so that's out .

I have been messing with cars since I was 15 and have built some nice cars and really enjoy it , I have a lot of the tools I need already and plenty of garage space so I'm already set up and I do all my own work from top to bottom .

So can you make any money doing the cars this way ? I'm not looking to get rich just make a living.

Thanks  

Edited by Rocky 72 (see edit history)

Restoring a whole car will take too long for a one man operation.  And if that first car does not sell, and you are forced to sell at a loss, just to buy food?

The cars we had good luck in flipping 10 years ago, are not hot sellers now, Those buyers are older and downsizing, or also hurt by the economy too.

Things have changed so much in all businesses and hobbies over the last decade, that you can't foresee how bad it will be in even the near future.

At your age and where you live, I'd say you need to do all sorts of things, rather than just buy one car and restore it. 

It depends on what you expect for a wage and the level you will perform at. The upside is that you are selling a car as-is and without any expectations placed on you by the customer during the build.

Will you have the funds to purchase the car and do the work to a level that will sell for enough of a profit to satisfy you?