1948 Dodge Deluxe stalling

Guest xcatdaddyx

Guest xcatdaddyx

Hey guys, just bought a 48 Dodge Deluxe.It wasn't running when i brought it home until I just tightened down the positive battery cable and it fired right up.  I was driving it yesterday and it stalled out on me and wouldn't start again. Today I took a wire brush to both the positive and negative terminals and it started right up. I let it run for about 3 mins, it stalled and wouldn't start again. I'm new to working on cars so I'm not sure how to diagnose the problem. Anyone have advice? I'm gonna try changing the spark plugs and coil maybe ?

Check fuel filters first.

Don't throw parts at it unless its needed. You can hook up a loose spark plug and lay it on the head, have someone crank it  to look for spark.

Do this in the dark.

Also if you can, start it in the dark and look to see if there is a light show around the plug wires.

• 2 weeks later...
Guest xcatdaddyx

OK, plugs are good, coil is good, replaced the fuel pump and filter. Still no luck. Maybe the carb needs rebuilt or the gas is really dirty from the gas tank?

If its not cranking take a look at the battery cables, if it has those replacement ends that use two screws and a small plate to capture that cable that is a very common place for them to loose contact. Take them all apart and clean thoroughly.

If it is cranking check for spark as I described above.

If it has spark then drip a little gas down the carburetor and see if it fires. Only about two thimble fulls max.

If it kicks then dies you have a fuel problem. could be carb, pump, filter, plugged up rubber line (the gas these days will plug up a line from the inside and it may look fine from the outside). Or it could be pulling air thru a leaking line that won't drip fuel but will let air in and starve the engine.