Few Young Members: Parallels in Model-Railroad Hobby

John_S_in_Penna

The antique-car hobby is not alone.

An article last week in The Wall Street Journal focused on

the toy-train hobby.  It said that overwhelmingly, the active

members were all of retirement age, and that even a 

40- or 50-year-old railroad hobbyist was unusual.

Decades ago, younger adults were interested in model railroading,

the article said.

Railroad hobbyists gave their opinions that children today are

tied into their electronic devices and have little interest in

building model railroads.  The members were concerned,

and hoped to attract younger people.

They could have been quoting our hobby:  It sounded

word-for-word what the AACA has been saying for a long time.

Of course all is not hopeless.  But are there OTHER hobbies,

besides cars and trains, where younger people are no longer 

to be seen, where once they were common?  Is this a wide trend?

I am a train hobbyist.  The internet has killed local train stores, and hence, a lot of real human interaction for the hobby.  Not saying it hasn't happened in a lot of other areas too, but every town used to have a local train/hobby store.  I work in a city of 350,000 now that doesn't even have a full time store other than a chain Hobbytown store that's really dedicated to RC.  Kids don't enjoy them because it's not on a screen.  I have really tried to get my oldest into model railroading, with moderate success. 

Plus, people don't see trains as part of their life anymore.  People still "need" cars, but not trains.

Railroad tracks, whether in your house on a table or built onto mother earth, are disappearing in much the same way old highways and small towns are.