removing wax from a car

FrankWest107

What solvent removes wax but won't hurt the paint

Wax and grease remover, as sold in any auto body supply shop.  PrepSol is one brand name, as is the cleverly-named "Prep All" knockoff.  You can buy Prep All on line.

Note that due to EPA requirements, many of these solvent-based products are being replaced with water-based products.  I have no experience with the latter.

61jJC1Uh1iL._SY355_.jpg

Wax and grease remover, as sold in any auto body supply shop.  PrepSol is one brand name, as is the cleverly-named "Prep All" knockoff.  You can buy Prep All on line.

Note that due to EPA requirements, many of these solvent-based products are being replaced with water-based products.  I have no experience with the latter.

61jJC1Uh1iL._SY355_.jpg

Thanks...Just what I need!

If you want to remove the wax from a car, first use Dawn liquid dish soap. Mix a bit in your bucket of water and you'll wipe the wax off.  After you have thoroughly washed the car several times, you can then use a Prep-All product to finish the job.

Dawn works very well and is much cheaper than other auto body products.

I also use Dawn for color sanding. 

If you want to remove the wax from a car, first use Dawn liquid dish soap. Mix a bit in your bucket of water and you'll wipe the wax off.  After you have thoroughly washed the car several times, you can then use a Prep-All product to finish the job.

Dawn works very well and is much cheaper than other auto body products.

I also use Dawn for color sanding. 

Great info and details, I appreciate it.