Another Question. This one Replacement Carburetor

AVS619

I am still learning to adjust the Schebler Model L on the 1910 IHC -30. The tour is two weeks from today. It has been recommended to me to get a modern Zenith universal carburetor either to replace the Schebler or as a back-up. So, I talked with John at Auto Test Systems and Mike Framer at Zenith but I am left a bit confused. It appears that one of two models should work, a 14998 267 -10 or a model 14996 267 - X9. Both will fit my bolt hole pattern although both have a throttle bore a bit less than the bore of the intake manifold. The 144998 is about 1/8th smaller and the the other about 1/4 smaller. What I do not understand is the venturi sizes. the 14998 has a 24mm size and the 14996 is 21 mm. Both they say are bigger than what they say would be best for a four cylinder 4 in bore and 4 inch stroke running at about 1500 to 1800 RPM max(?) which would be about 18mm. OK, that left me in the dark. Can anyone shed light on what they are talking about and can anyone recommend which model to order, the 14998  267-10 or the 14996 267-X9? I really want to tour with this car in the next few weeks and many time in the future. Thank you in advance.

Hello.

I would suggest you read over this information.  It is pretty straight forward.  If the people at Zenith used the Bore - Stroke - RPM etc. info you gave them this is probably how they arrived at their recommendation.  I use Zenith universal carburetors on my 3 'teen cars and they are great.  I bought my carburetors from Automotive Test Systems.  I have talked to ATS and Mike Framer at Zenith.  They are good people.  I hope this helps you.  If you still have questions, I'll try to help.

Carburetor & Venturi Sizes