Battery keeps draining on 1950 Ford Custom

Guest Aajord

Guest Aajord

I have a 1950 Ford Custom with flathead v8 with the original 6v system. The key got left on once battery went dead tried charging battery finally went and bought a new battery. Put the new battery in and took the car for a drive got home parked it and went out later in the day to put it in the gargage and the new battery was dead. Does any one have any idea how it could drain that fast? And any ideas how to track it down and fix it?

Guest Bob Call

Obviously not the battery. There has to be a direct short in the electrical system somewhere. A bare wire touching ground? Voltage regulator points stuck? I'm not good with electrical systems. Someone can tell you how to use a test light to start troubleshooting. These inexpensive test lights can be purchased at parts stores or Home Depot or other hardware stores. Also can use an inexpensive multi-meter to test voltage, amperage draw, continuity, etc. Good luck.

A good way to check for shorts is to charge the battery and disconnect the neg (ungrounded) cable. Wait till night, come out with a flashlight and touch the cable to the post. With everything off you will see a spark if there's a short (a ground is the same as a short) next get a drop light and find the fuse box. With the battery re-connected take out one fuse at a time then touch it back to the fuse clips looking for a spark. You should find the faulty circuit. Then trace the wire to the end looking for a pinch point or frayed insulation. Good luck and let us know if you find it.