1929 Willys Knight Barn find Should I leave the dust or wash it?

Guest ModelTguy

Guest ModelTguy

Hello everyone, 

This is my first time posting on AACA forums, so please don't bash me, I figured this would be a good topic for general discussion. My grandfather recently purchased a 1929 Willys Knight in original Barn find condition. This is a perfect HPOF car, and will be left as such. My question is, should we wash the dirt off, or leave it on there? This car has been in storage since 1949, I would greatly appreciate anyone's input. 

Thanks 

Tyler  

Guest AlCapone

I agree, Tyler, with the majority:  clean it and 

get it running.  When you go a museum and see,

for example, the Wright brothers' original plane,

you may see it in its original state, but it has been

cleaned up.

There's nothing historic about dirt.

A wise man has spoken! Wayne

Hello everyone, 

This is my first time posting on AACA forums, so please don't bash me, I figured this would be a good topic for general discussion.

Thanks 

Tyler  

Why would anyone bash you, especially when your question is an excellent topic for general discussion?

As to whether or not to clean the car, you should first decide what you want to do with the car.  Most folks when fortunate enough to  acquire a genuine 'barn find', clean them up to drive and to take to shows.  I believe that is what most of us on this forum want to do ... enjoy the car by driving it and sharing (car shows etc.) it with others.  There is a growing, but still minuscule part of the hobby, that thinks a barn find should be preserved just 'as found', flat tires, dirt, dust,mouse crap and all.  I believe that if that is what the finder wants, leave the 'find' in the barn, buy the barn and enjoy your 'barn find' from the cracked open doorway of the barn itself (We wouldn't want to leave any recent footprints in the authentic dust, now, would we?).