1991 Roadmaster Wagon - Ring and Pinion Gear Replacement

TxBuicks

My 1991 Roadmaster wagon broke last week.  Wouldn't go forward or backward.  It wasn't long before I realized the problem.  I saw the drive shaft spinning and the rear wheels not spinning so I know it had something to do with the rear end gears.  I pulled out the differential assembly yesterday and, yep, the ring gear is almost toothless, and the pinion gear is too.  My question is, how does the pinion gear come out?  I know I have to remove the U-Joint and the yoke from the front of the differential, but then does the pinion gear just push out through the back end of the differential housing or is it pressed in?  This is my first attempt at rear end gears so I want to know what I'm getting into.  And the shop manual just says 'remove the pinion gear and shaft' but it doesn't say how.  And I'm thinking the big bolt that holds the yoke on is going to be fun now that I have the differential gears out there won't be any resistance keeping it from spinning when I try to take it loose.  Probably have to jam the yoke somehow while I take the bolt loose.

Any thoughts on any of this?

There is a nut on the front (outside) of the pinion under the rear half of the U joint.

With the nut removed, the rear half of the U joint comes off (it might take a puller) 

Then the pinion should slide out the back (pretty sure the differential assembly must be out)

When reinstalling there is a "crush sleeve" that is compressed to get the proper tooth engagement.   If the tighen the nut too much, you must start over with another crush sleeve...might want

to get help for that part.