Radial Tires?

Why are radial tires not included as a "safety" enhancement. I'm new to the AACA and was told that some eqpt ( not original eqpt ) is allowed if it is a safety improvement. I asked a judge about this and he said radial tires have not been proven to be safer! I can't believe that, they let a car stop shorter, especially if road is wet, handle much better, and have less chance of blowouts. Any thoughts on this.

Radial tires on a car not originally equipped with them will get a significant deduction - 3 points per tire, including the spare if applicable. AACA does not consider this a safety exception. If you are driving the car enough to be concerned about the safety advantage, then you are most likely showing the car as well. My '61 Cad has radials, but it is strictly used for touring.<BR>Some owners have two sets of wheels, one set with radials and one with the proper tires. They switch them for judging.

Steve, <BR>I agree with that judge to a point. <BR>However, as long as some of the old car hobbiest have it in their minds that they must drive their 50 year old (or whatever year old ) antique car into a hard curve at 80 MPH, so they can grip the road or drive in pouring down rain at the same speed and want to feel like they are riding in their living room sofa, then I say, put on the radials. What other purpose is there for running them? There is no doubt in my mind that they ride better than a bias tire and that they cover up most of the sins of a neglected worn suspension. However, I don't agree with a radial having a less chance of a blowout over a bias tire or belonging on a show car that did not come equipped with them originally. Those Explorers your seeing on the news every night are not running on bias 820 X 15's.<BR>The AACA is a great club for owning and enjoying cars for the way they where when there were new. Lets continue to enjoy AACA for what it stands for.<P>Rick