send in the clones?

rodlars

What is the AACA's stance on cloned cars. By this, I refer to super cars from the muscle car era being recreated from more pedestrian donor cars. For example, a 426 Hemi Cuda being created from a base model Barracuda or perhaps a 383 Road Runner now boasting a 426 complete with all of the tags and chassis upgrades etc. These cars are a step up from a replicar but still aren't the real thing. Just curios.

Our position is easily stated - we judge the cars as they left the factory. Any changes from the original, e.g. engine swap, chassis changes, etc. results in deductions.<P>The problem, of course, is can the judges catch these clones? In all honesty, if I were assigned to the muscle car classes, I probably would not catch the changes. Sure, I could catch the Shelby Cobra with a 6-cyl engine (one of these "clones" actually showed up at a local meet several years ago). I am not an expert at all in those classes and that is why I judge in other areas. Hopefully the judges assigned there will be knowledgeable enough to properly judge the clones. If this is the area of your interest, we sure would like you to be on the judging team.<p>[This message has been edited by ronbarn (edited 09-22-2000).]