74 Lesabre Convertible - I need some help with getting the right battery!

JoelsBuicks

I just purchased a 1974 Lesabre Luxus Convertible. I'm going to try and start it and drive it home on Friday. It does not have a battery but it is a very original car with only 40K miles. When I looked at the car, I remember it having battery cable ends that screw into threads on a battery and not post-type connections. I want to buy a battery that is supposed to fit the car but the car is 50 miles away and I can't remember whether ground is closer to the center of the car or if it is the hot cable or whether they are toward the front of the car or back. All I know is that this car is very original and garage kept. Can someone tell me a size or battery number appropriate for an original car? My Buicks are all older - I have no experience with this vintage. Also, I have to buy the battery and take it with me - there are no places that sell batteries near this car.

Thank You!

Edited by JoelsBuicks
spelling (see edit history)

BTW, I recently replaced the battery in the Electra. I can't recall if I got the 78 or 78-A. One had both top posts and side terminals, the other just side terminals. In the Delco brand the one with both top posts and side terminals had a higher power rating, so I went with that. Conveniently, it was a lower cost for the Delco battery than for others I considered inferior. Time will tell if I made the right choice.

One more thing, the Delco one was the only one where I was definitively told the battery case was reinforced to prevent that positive side terminal from leaking. I have seen that on two 78 series batteries and have come to learn this was a routine problem for several years in all the 78 series batteries. That's why I replaced my otherwise well functioning battery to begin with. That leaking acid sure does ruin the metal underneath if it stays on there too long.