Should I Buy? Young man looking for advice re: 1989 TC 22,000 Miles

Guest casa.alberto

Guest casa.alberto

Hello Everyone,

I am completely new to TCs, so all of your advice and perspective is much appreciated.

I've been in contact with the owner of a 1989 Chrysler Maserati TC Convertible with about 22,000 miles on it.

Here are the specs as provided by the owner:

Cabernet and Ginger

< 22,000 miles

2.2 L straight 4 Chrysler K engine

New battery

Condition: Good -- mechanically sound (according to owner)Hard Top: Excellent (SOLD SEPARATELY)

Tires: Need replacing

Damage: Faded paint on hood, minor scratches, rust pellet on driver's door, faded patch on left side convertible top. Rear window automatic up/down not working but there is a replacement motor not yet installed.

He said it was his mother's and she rarely drove it. Unfortunately, it has been living outside since then (perhaps seven years?) He said he has driven it a few times in the last four years. Needs fluids changed etc. and tires replaced but otherwise should be good mechanically. So he says. What should I watch out for?

I'm going to take a look tomorrow. Any information that I can arm myself with would be much, much appreciated.

His asking price was $2400 to get it all in working order, and $1400 for a "tow away today" sort of deal.

Thanks!

Guest BobFitz

Hardtop should come with car. They sell on Ebay for $50.

Any car rarely driven for 7 years will have many potential problems. Fluid change and filters(including gas) is a starting point. I am always leery of a car sitting for a long period- why?

Find a good mechanic who is familiar with Chrysler K cars and have him check it out.

$1400 may seem like a deal but after sitting and not having regular maintenance you could potentially spend many thousands getting the car in good shape.