Oil Bath Air Cleaner

I have 48 Packard with an oil bath air cleaner and have some questions. I noticed that when assembled the oil level (marked with a line on the pan) is below the filter element. What I am trying to figure out is how this system cleans the air before going into the carburetor. It seems the air is drawn down toward the oil, then makes a 180 degree turn up through the element. Is that it? Should the element be dipped in oil before assembly to aid in cleaning? Also, what is the proper cleaning and re-oiling procedure for this? <P>Please excuse the questions, but I am new to this type of system and want to make sure I am doing it correctly.

Guest Albert

the course mesh will catch the big chunks like bugs and leaves, the air then passes through the oil trapping all the smailler bits. Cleaning use diesel or varisol for cleaning the element. <BR>54 Packard Clipper Special

When I can get around to it I plan on adapting a paper element inside the original oil bath housing. With a newly bored engine going in soon I would like to clean up the intake air as much as possible.

There is a good article on putting a paper element filter in an oil bath air filter:<P><A HREF="http://www.indfloorcoating-repair.com/1948plymouthenginerestoration.html" TARGET=_blank>http://www.indfloorcoating-repair.com/1948plymouthenginerestoration.html</A><P>The article is about 1/2 way down the page.<P>Not sure what cars besides the Plymouth it applies to, but the information was useful for me.<P>Thanks to the Plymouth folks, they have provided me with a great deal of useful information!<P>Rich