Fuse size for stand alone, 12 volt, LED turn signals

gregleck

I am adding turn signals to my 1937 Buick Coupe. It is a 6 volt system, which I am keeping.

The turn signals will be a stand alone, 12 volt system, powered by a small, 12 volt SLA battery with 2.9 AH.

The lights themselves will be 12 volt LED - two amber lights for rear turn signals, and two switchback lights

in the fender light housings for front white running lights and when the turn signal is activated, amber directional signals.

I would like to install an inline fuse between the battery, and the LED three prong flasher.

How do I determine what size fuse to use?

I have basic knowledge of electricity and can use a multimeter.

You could hook up one light to your voltage source and put a DC ammeter in series with it to see the amount of current draw it has. Multiply by 4 to get the system draw. That should at least give you an idea on the minimum value the fuse has to be.

Terry

I would base it on the size wire you are protecting and not worry much about the draw.

I would use 14ga wire, it is capable of handling 20 amps in a 12v system and I would protect it with a 15 amp fuse.

Edited by Rp1967 (see edit history)

14 AWG wire is rated for 15 amps only, not 20. This LED system probably only draws a couple of amps if that. If it's not on the spec sheet, make a mock-up on the bench and measure the worst case current draw (four way flasher if equipped), which I predict to be about 3-4 amps. So a 5 amp fuse should suffice.

Just looked it up to be sure , 14 ga wire is good for 20 amps in a 12 v circut up to 15 feet long which wont be exceded in an automobile flasher circut.

You could also run 16 ga with a 10 amp or 18 ga with a 7.5 and so on.

The draw is irrelevant if you use wire large enough to handle it.

you are using a fuse to protect the wiring from shorting out and burning, you are not protecting the turn signal.