Sign in to follow this  
Prod1954

Just bought me a 1963 Riviera. School me

My name is Paul and I'm out of the Dallas area. And struck deal with a guy in Houston for my new project. Previous owner started rust repair. So it's in pieces. Engine runs and tranny moves the car. Not sure how well. lol I'm new to the Rivi game. So. If there's anybody helpful in the Dallas area. PM me. Once I figure out how to post pics I'll do that. Time to get to work.

Benefits of AACA Membership.

Hi Paul and Welcome to the forum. Congratulations on your purchase.

sounds like you are anxious to get to work but before you do take some time and fully assess all the needs of your project and whats involved in reaching the goal. Figure out what parts you need, where they can be found, and how much work it will be to get the job done and what it will cost. This will help you prioritize your work and make it easier to accomplish the goal.

Its not uncommon for a new Riviera owner to be disappointed in not having restoration books and one or two catalogs available that have most parts you need reproduction common to the mainstream classics. Instead they must become skilled at used part identification, searching, and patience and of course what things cost. while 64 Rivs seem very much the same, there are significant differences and some parts do not interchange.

ROA has a several member dealers for used and new parts as well as Technical Advisors for each year generation Riviera to assist its members.

Definitely at the top of the list of things to do first is purchase a 1963 Buick chassis service manual.

We would like to see pics of your car. Also - If you post pics of areas needing work, folks here can assist and get you advised and pointed in the right direction.

Here is a link that will help you post pics. http://forums.aaca.org/showthread.php?t=375751&p=1317908#post1317908

Paul,