No brakes in 41 chrysler Help please!

My 41 chrysler decided she doesnt want to stop anymore! I havent any pedal pressure at all. As of the day before she stopped ok, I'm not a mechanic, so I dont know if theres a master cylinder to check fluids. I am going to order pads and linings, but how do I tell if these are mechanical brakes? Is there a diagram of the braking system for this car in existance? Any help appreciated!<BR>Rick

res1967 ~ With the first Chrysler built in 1924 all Chrysler's have had juice brakes, or more correcly known as hydraulic brakes. If you do not pedal pressure at all this would mean you have lost hydraulic pressure from either a loss of fluid in the system or your master cylinder needs rebuilding (possibly also your wheels cylinders while your at it). To much air in the system will cause a loss of brake pedal pressure. As far as the location of the master cylinder on a '41 Chrylser I don't know (never have owned one), should be either under the hood or under the drivers side front floor board. You should be able to trace your brake lines back to the master cylinder. I would recommend you contact a member of the Chrysler club and see if there are any service or factory repair manuals being reproduced for your car. They are always a great source of knowledge.<BR>A side note here. About 20 years ago a friend of mine bought a '24 Chrysler 2 door sedan from the original owner. He drove the car home with out checking it out very carefully. He went to pull the car into the garage and the 4 wheel hydraulic brakes failed at just that moment and the big heavy Chrysler was then stoped only by the crushing action of his wife's clothes washer and dryer being driven through the garage wall into the house. My friends wife never did like her husbands hobby and now she really hated it. My friend ended up haveing to buyer a new cloths washer and dryer, repair the wall and sold the Chrysler. shocked.gif" border="0