Question about 30s-50s cars after a large EMP event

Guest writerDW

Guest writerDW

<html> This is a serious question; I'm not trying to troll. I'm just running into an internet research wall and decided to try asking people who probably know the answer.

Short version of the setup for my question is, I'm a writer working on a story involving EMP. It occurred to me that one of my characters, who I've already set up as a long-distance cargo hauler (including expensive and extremely classic cars) might be able to use one after a massive EMP takes out modern systems. I'd like someone with hands-on mechanical experience in cars of these eras to offer an opinion if possible, please. EMP = Electro Magnetic Pulse, like will generate from a nuclear device.

My brother is a diesel technician (ex USMC and privately trained, now works on semis and rental company diesel trucks) and I ran it by him; he seems to feel classic cars (I believe he mentioned pre 1965) incorporate no computers, so would be entirely unaffected by an EMP. The wiring and spark plugs, alternators, in classic cars wouldn't be affected? They'd just start right up and run without issue? Obviously the scenario I'm talking about is quite theoretical (if there's any information about cars in the EMP footprint working following a WW2 era nuclear test I haven't been able to find it); but when I write I try not to put wild and unsubstantiated stuff into the text; things that make people in those fields roll their eyes.