Sign in to follow this  
Dosmo

1955 Lincoln Sportsman - were more than one built?

Some sources I've read say that the factory produced 1, others say up to 8 were built. Still, others say the factory NEVER produced one. This one is for sale on the Internet, and it's originality cannot be verified.

I'm just curious about such things and I wondered if any experts at this forum could shed any light on the subject.

Thank You.

Link to the ad for this car

http://classiccars.com/listings/view/531717/1955-lincoln-capri-for-sale-in-burbank-california-91505

post-44221-143142602313_thumb.jpg

post-44221-143142602307_thumb.jpg

post-44221-14314260231_thumb.jpg

I'm not an expert on these cars by any means, but having spent a lot of time with other woodies, particular Town & Countrys, that Lincoln looks pretty homemade to me. The factory would have used larger sections of mahogany or other dark wood inside the frames of lighter-colored wood, or perhaps even Dy-Noc in larger sheets. The multiple "breaks" in the panels hidden by framework suggests that whomever did the work was not skilled enough to make the larger panels conform to the shape of the bodywork, and instead disguised it by adding more framework to cover the seams on smaller pieces of wood. There's just no way the factory would have done it like that, especially if it were a halo-type vehicle. Wood was over by 1955 anyway, nobody was putting it on anything but wagons and even then, it was Dy-Noc, not real wood.

My gut says nicely done car, but not a factory-built piece.