What is this 1915 ish car? Is it a taxi or private car?

Guest rgoutal

Guest rgoutal

My grandfather was a taxi driver in Paris France just before World War I. He immigrated to the US in July 1920. I have no specific evidence that he drove a cab here, in fact most documents say he was a butcher here. Nevertheless I have his drivers license from New York State in 1923-24. I cannot believe he had enough money to buy his own car, but it is possible I suppose. Here he is in font of a car. His wife is showing off in the driver seat.

Can the make and year of the car be identified?

(I can find no markings unless the front tire has writing along the rim at the top. It could also be just dirt. Under scanning enlargement, I still cannot discern if there are any actual words there.)

It seems about 1915 ish but I am no expert.

I can see that it is similar to a taxi cab in that the driver seems separated from the passenger compartment. What do you think? Or is this arrangement also common with household, family-use cars of that time?

Grateful for any observations.

rgoutal

post-101324-143142568336_thumb.jpg

post-101324-143142568336_thumb.jpg

Looks like a pre-WW1 Renault to me. Could the photo have been taken in France before your father immigrated?

Here is a Renault of a similar vintage with the characteristic placement of the radiator at the firewall like the early Mack trucks:

4614788033d6dc16c7f6be8c1e0a1e59.jpg

Edited by ply33 (see edit history)

Guest rgoutal

Thanks for you observation. No, the picture is definitely in the US, probably NYC or Boston area. (A house like that is unlikely anywhere in France at that time.)

This was avery expensive and prestigious auto, not commonly used by an ordinary family. Could he have been a chauffeur for a wealthy family? The open front seat was to show off the chauffeur and it would not normally have been driven by the owner.

Don

Guest rgoutal
Could he have been a chauffeur for a wealthy family?

Don