I believe my head could explode at any minute

Guest Richard D

Guest Richard D

Several weeks ago my Reatta began turning on the odometer, lights above the interior door handles, the EL backlight on the console shifter and the climate control backlight. After a new battery problem corrected itself except for the odometer which would only work at random. unless car is in on position. BCM input 106 showed proper level change when lifted, not a major problem. WRONG! Original problem reocurred and I had a dead battery. Tomorrow I will check the input and output of the BCM to verify its the BCM unless someone can wave a magic wand in my direction. Also courtesy don't work from any input such as door switchs, headlight slide switch or key fob which operates door locks and trunk lid.. I am a bit ashamed to admit that I was an electronic engineer im an earlier life. If I were to take it to a Buick, Cadillac and GMC dealer would that be stupid?

PLEASE HELP.

Richard.

zUpdate update UPDATE

When I check both outside door handles the input on the BCM stays at high, before it would stay low until I lift up on the door handle it would switch from low to high. What is common to both door handles? From what I can see is the BCM, I need ideas PLEASE. Rap works fine. Should I call the service writer at the Cadillac, GMC, BUICK dealer? Any chance of them knowing this system?

Edited by Richard D (see edit history)

Richard,